View our tenders
View our vacancies
Events Calendar
APRIL 2017
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9
  • 10
  • 11
  • 12
  • 13
  • 14
  • 15
  • 16
  • 17
  • 18
  • 19
  • 20
  • 21
  • 22
  • 23
  • 24
  • 25
  • 26
  • 27
  • 28
  • 29
  • 30
Weather Forecast
14°C / 23°C
16°C / 21°C
Full Forecast
Todays Tides
Purchase Prepaid Electricity online

About us


Mossel Bay was officially proclaimed a town in 1848 and in 1852, it became a Municipality. As a result of the new municipal dispensation introduced by the South African Government, during December 2000 the Municipality of Mossel Bay was merged with the structures of the much smaller Friemersheim, Great Brak River and Herbertsdale to establish the present-day Local Municipality of Mossel Bay.

The Mossel Bay Local Municipality is situated within the Eden Municipal District which also includes the Local Municipalities of Bitou (Plettenberg Bay), George, Hessequa (Riversdale), Kannaland (Ladismith) and Oudtshoorn. The Eden District Municipality fulfils a co-ordinating function in the area although each of the aforementioned are autonomous.
The municipal area, demarcation code WC043, is 2007 sq km in size and includes the towns and/or settlements of Mossel Bay, Boggoms Bay, Brandwag, Buisplaas, D'Almeida, Dana Bay, Glentana, Fraaiuitsig, Friemersheim, Great Brak River, Hartenbos, Herbertsdale, Hersham, KwaNonqaba, Little Brak River, Outeniqua Beach, Reebok, Ruiterbos, Southern Cross, Tergniet and Vleesbaai.
It is situated on the N2 approximately midway between the coastal cities of Cape Town and Port Elizabeth. It is bordered by the Municipalities of George to the east, Hessequa to the west and Oudtshoorn to the north. Its western boundary is the Gouritz River and its northern boundary the Outeniqua mountains. To the east it stretches to the Maalgate River.

The  main economic activities in the Mossel Bay municipal area are agriculture (aloes, cattle, dairy, ostriches, sheep, timber, vegetables and wine), fishing, light industry, petrochemicals and tourism. 

The Mossel Bay Municipality has a proud service delivery record, with some of the highest levels in terms of the basic service delivery areas of water supply, sanitation, electriciity supply and roads infrastructure in South Africa. The Municipality won the Greenest Municipality Competition in South Africa and has up to the 2015/2016 financial year achieved five consecutive clean audits.


General Information

Municipal Manager: Adv T Giliomee, B Econ; BPA (Hons); B Comm (Hons); B Proc; LL M; Certificate in Labour Law (UNISA) (Cum Laude).

Chief Financial Officer: M K Botha, B Comm, MBA.

Grading of Local Authority: Grade 2.

Auditors: Auditor-General.

Bank:Standard Bank.

Registered Office: Civic Centre, 101 Marsh Street, Mossel Bay 6506